# CCSAM AWARDS POLICY Ratified by the Board on February 3, 2005

## Purpose

To recognize and celebrate the outstanding performance and achievements of the Cross Country Ski Association of Manitoba's (CCSAM) athletes and coaches and to honour the exceptional work of our volunteers.

# **Eligibility**

To be eligible for a CCSAM Award, an individual must be a CCSAM member in good standing. Exceptions to this will be considered for those nominated for *Volunteer of the Year.* CCSAM staff members are not eligible for Coach or Volunteer Awards.

#### **Nomination**

- Anyone can submit a nomination.
- The nominator must include all of the information requested on each nomination submitted.
- Nominations should be received at the CCSAM office no later than 3 weeks before the Annual Awards Banquet date.
- The awards will be presented at the Annual Awards Banquet.
- All awards may not be presented each year.

#### Volunteer of the Year

Awarded to an individual whose volunteerism demonstrated an unsurpassed dedication and commitment to the development and betterment of cross country skiing in Manitoba.

#### Sport Builder of the Year

Awarded to an individual or group with demonstrated success in either creating or expanding an existing cross country ski program in their community.

### Family of the Year

To recognize the families in the CCSAM ski community who make a difference with their positive attitude, community spirit and volunteerism. Awarded to a family of cross country ski enthusiasts.

#### Coach of the Year

For the coach with outstanding leadership skills, demonstrated commitment to safe and ethical coaching practices and a positive, balanced approach to coaching.

#### Club of the Year

For the CCSAM club demonstrating a commitment to developing quality cross country ski programs in their community.

## **Special Recognition Awards**

For individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport of cross country skiing in Manitoba. These are awarded at the discretion of the Awards Committee based on nominations.

## Chair's Award

The highest honour bestowed by CCSAM. Awarded by the CCSAM Chairperson.

#### Masters Skier of the Year

Awarded by the President of Manitoba Masters to a Manitoba Masters member of distinction.

## Senior Skiers of the Year (Female & Male)

For overall performance excellence at the Provincial, National and International competition level.

## **Junior Skiers of the Year (Female & Male)**

For overall performance excellence at the Provincial, National and International competition level. Athletes must be in the Midget, Juvenile or Junior competition category.

## **Most Improved Skiers (Female & Male)**

For the athlete showing a significant improvement from the previous year based on race results or other criteria deemed commendable by the Awards Committee.

#### **Awards Committee**

This committee is composed of a Chairperson, appointed each year by the Board of Directors, the Chair of the High Performance Committee, and three (3) members at large selected by the chairperson.

# **Responsibilities of the Chairperson**

- Selection of the three committee members at large.
- Review of the policy and nomination forms as required.
- Verification of nominations for eligibility, accuracy and completeness.\*
- Distribution of nominations to committee members in advance of a meeting.\*
- Organizing and chairing the award meetings.
- Maintaining records of the voting results.\*
- Notification of award winners\*.
- Preparation of awards.\*

<sup>\*</sup>Assistance from the Executive Director will be provided in support of these activities.

## **Award Selection**

Award nominees will be evaluated by the committee based on the information provided in the nomination forms for the applicable award.\* The committee may submit additional information and nominations during the selection process. The committee members will review all the nominees for suitability, and the voting procedure will be by a majority of votes. Voting shall be by secret ballot. If the committee determines that there are no suitable nominees, no award will be presented.

\*Except for the Chair's Award.