Beyond the Binary: Research + Study

A community research team has been hired by Canadian Women & Sport to help build their understanding of barriers facing nonbinary people in sport and to identify approaches that can support both women and non-binary people to benefit from gender equity, in the context of barriers for transgender people more broadly. 

We are looking to reach nonbinary athletes across Canada to add your voice to help shape a vision for Canadian sport and recreation that truly embraces nonbinary people.

2021-2022 Nordiq Canada Coaching License

Coaches can now start signing up for their 2021-22 Nordiq Canada Coaching License

All coaches coaching for more than 7 hours/year must sign up for the 2021-22 Nordiq Canada Coaching License before starting to coach from July 1st 2021 to June 30th 2022 in order to continue benefiting from Nordiq Canada liability insurance coverage and other benefits.

English form
French form

The Nordiq Canada coaching license is mandatory for all active cross country ski coaches in Canada who are coaching at least 7 hours per year with a registered cross country ski club (with their division).
An “active” coach is anyone who performs typical coaching tasks with a registered club, including delivering practices or assisting with delivery of practices, with any age group, for at least 7 hours per year.

Personal information collected is kept private and may only be used for risk management, planning and communication purposes between Nordiq Canada, the coach’s club and division.

The license is renewable on a yearly basis, starting June 15th and effective July 1st of each year.

Go to the NC Coaching License page for more details and registration.

Sports On Lockdown Study

Research Study: COVID-19 restrictions impact on athlete well-being 

Dr. Carl Neinhuis, a sport psychology researcher, and Dr. Iris Lesser, a physical activity researcher, both of the University of the Fraser Valley in British Columbia, are conducting this online survey to learn about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on athletes’ mental health and well-being.


Coaching: A Path to Reconciliation in Sport

In partnership with the Manitoba Aboriginal Sports & Recreation Council and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation, Sport Manitoba Coaching is hosting a 2-hour virtual professional development session for coaches across Manitoba.

During this session, coaches will learn about the history of colonization, assimilation, and residential schools in Canada and the role sport has to play in the path of reconciliation. Coaches will learn about Calls to Action 87-91 and leave the session with clear steps on how to respond to these Calls to Action and implement them into their sport programming.

When: Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Time: 6:30 PM – 8:30 PM
Where: Zoom – link will be sent via email closer to the event date.

This is a FREE event. Coaches will receive 2 PD points for attending.